Why is tax added to the checkout price?

Various countries require a collection of value-added taxes for online sales. Some countries issue corporate use VAT ID, and if you use that ID during checkout, VAT will not be applied to the price. Here is the list of countries that require VAT (or sales tax):

  • All EU Countries
  • Canada
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Korea
  • India
  • Russia
  • New Zealand
  • Japan
  • United States (all states except for Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, Oregon)

From July 1, 2017, this list will be expanded to Australia and India.

The list of countries and states can be expanded in the future, depending the on the local VAT (or sales tax) laws.

Rate this FAQ answer

You are not allowed to rate this post.