Back to GD Mail Queue (Lite) Forum

Duplicated Emails and Slow Queueing Time

Published on: February 7, 2024 at 6:39 pm · By: pharocattle
Author
Topic

I’m brand new to this plugin. It was recommended in the WP Foro forums because we were having issues with errors when forum posts were made due to a high number of email notifications being sent out. It’s at least partially resolved the issue we were facing; however, it still takes around 30 seconds for a forum post/reply to be made with ~600 subscribers being notified. With no subscriber notifications, the same post/reply takes less than 1 second.

First question…is there a way to further speed up queueing the email to reduce load time when making a post/reply.

Second, and most important question…we’re having some users get duplicated emails. It’s not consistent across our user base, so it seems somehow related to mail queueing or possibly re-queueing of emails. I tried lowering the number of emails in a batch, but I’m not sure what else could be done to troubleshoot and/or resolve this. Any advice?

Note…we’re on v6.4.3 of WordPress.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
Author
Replies

Hello,

If your post has 600 subscribers, plugin needs to create 600 email records and store it in the database. That should be very quick under normal conditions. But, if your database (or hosting) server are slow, that can be long process. You say that it takes 30 seconds for 600 subscribers, that is only 20 subscribers a second, and that is very slow. Duplicated emails can be also caused by the slow database server, where the update queries are slow, and not properly synced, so some emails don’t get fully processed.

What kind of server do you use (detailed specs if you know)? The problems you described are easily explained by the underpowered server.